1/24 Chinook - CH47D

Post you current projects and keep them updated for all to see!

Moderator: Admin

1/24 Chinook - CH47D

Postby TwoHeads » Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:14 am

I have been flying model helicopters for many years, longer than I care to remember, but twin rotor machines have always held some magical appeal... you could almost call it a quiet obsession!

The larger Vario / Hirobo tandem machines always looked appealing but well outside my budget or physical space for storage, hence my desire to create a smaller tandem machine. This is my story of discovery and development to my current MK3 Chinook...

My first attempt some 10 years ago (2006), was based on two Ikarus Piccolo heads (some of you may remember those). Even a Piccolo in its standard form was not exactly a precise flying machine, but the Mk1 was a real learning exercise, especially as no 3 axis gyro system existed then. It had a brushed 400 class electric motor, and two rate gyros to help tame the yaw and elevator axis. If I recall correctly I tried two drive systems between the front and rear of the aircraft. The first was a toothed belt system, the second being a more traditional bevelled gear. Unfortunately these were just not up to the job and really could not handle the transfer of power between the heads. The control mixing was done in the transmitter.